13
Oct
08

The Sting

We’ve lost so many legends in the showbiz this year. Starting with Heath Ledger, we lost Stan Winston (the creator of the aliens in Alien, the Predator, the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park, and other movie monsters), Bernie Mac (hilarious fellow, he was ‘Bobby Bolivia’, the used car salesman in Transformers), Don LaFontaine (the voice of thousands of movie trailers “In a world where…”) and now, Paul Newman. One of Newman’s best remembered roles was in the con movie The Sting, where he plays an all-around rascal, helping a young Robert Redford to beat out the villains that killed his best friend. Bad guy Lonnigan is played by Irish actor Robert Shaw (of Jaws fame), with his famous quote “You follow?” 

Now, this movie is, at its core, a con movie. Have you ever seen the Ocean’s films? It consists of guys trying to one-up other guys, tricking and lying to gain an advantage. It’s a rather genius film, as are Ocean’s 11, 12, and 13. It definitely has some questionable themes in it, including premarital relations (you know what I mean), lying, and cheating. Some harsh language also, including a G-d. None of this should ultimately take away from this classic though.

9 out of 10 stars for the gritty, realistic The Sting.

Next review: I Am Legend.

9 Responses to “The Sting”


  1. 1 micknick
    October 13, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Well, there’s one I’ll put at the top of my list of movies to see. Sounds great and I cannot wait for the I Am Legend review! That was really fast too- starting to feel much more daily 😉

  2. 2 Jheffley
    October 14, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    I love the Sting. Nick, you have to see it. It is truly a classic (winner of the best picture Oscar). And could you possibly get a better theme song? I think not.

  3. October 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    oh i certainly agree. The Entertainer is an absolutely fantastic piece of work.

  4. 4 micknick
    October 15, 2008 at 12:25 am

    well, I was about to thank Jarrod for telling me that my theme song is awesome, but now I see that is not what he meant.

  5. October 15, 2008 at 9:49 am

    oh, but your theme song is awesome, nick.

  6. 6 micknick
    October 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    thanks. that’s just how I roll.

  7. 7 Hannah
    October 19, 2008 at 6:11 am

    So, I stumbled across your blog, and then I saw this post. It’s odd, because I actually created a film blog myself, recently, and the first review I did was on The Sting. Paul Newman + The Entertainer + Conning half a million dollars = Perfection. Anyhow, I linked you, if that’s alright.

  8. October 19, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    oh it’s quite fine.

  9. October 19, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    what’s the name of your blog, by the way?


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

