30
Sep
08

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End

Now I chose to do the Pirates of the Caribbean films separately because each one is different. The first one is good, solid Hollywood pirate action, the second is a lame, dark, convoluted script with actors who were either tired or uninterested, and the third, while odd, is a masterpiece of both script and CGi. Allow me to explain.

“Gentlemen…I wash my hands of this weirdness.”

“Ah, so we’ll have a lovely garden party and you’re not invited.”

“Dearly beloved, we have gathered here today…TO NAIL YER GIZZARD TO THE MAST, YER POXY CUR!”

And that’s just some of the fabulous lines. I’ll admit, the whole Calypso thing was terribly unnecessary and boring, but you have to admit, the Pirate Lords bit was hilarious. Not to mention the comic timing of this movie. When the pirate lord who never speaks finally speaks and his voice is painfully high-pitched, Johnny Depp’s look of confusion and surprise is right on the money. 

Now for the themes. The biggest and most obvious is the fact that these films glorify the pirate life. While we all might fantasize about being pirates, it really isn’t a God-honoring thing to wish for. Secondly, Elizabeth’s speech and whole idea that she’s voted as the ‘Pirate King’ seems to encourage feminism. 

Despite the film’s flaws (and they are many, I gladly admit) Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End is an exciting romp, even though, to follow anything story-wise, you must first watch the lackluster Dead Man’s Chest. All in all, 7 out of 10 stars for the third film in a pirate series that attempts to be epic.

Next review: The Sting (in honor of Paul Newman)

5 Responses to “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End”


  1. 1 jheffley
    September 30, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    I agree with you on this review, number two was terrible. This one however, was pretty good, especially the comedic timing. I can’t wait for “the sting” review. It is a true classic that will forever be remembered.

  2. 2 micknick
    September 30, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I honestly did not like this movie at all. I must admit, you have made me see some of the moments in different light. However, I think a movie like this (especially when compared to the first, which was outstanding) should be judged by more than its comedic moments. Yes, there may have been some good lines, but the story was ALL over the place. It seemed to have no real direction. Ha, sorry.

  3. October 1, 2008 at 8:54 am

    yeah, it seemed like that to me, but unlike a movie like Fantastic Four: The Rise of the Silver Surfer, the film didn’t seem like a jumbled mess of story. The scriptwriters knew what they wanted and that’s what they got out of it. It didn’t keep adding new twists and new goals for the characters.

  4. 4 micknick
    October 1, 2008 at 10:44 am

    It didn’t keep adding new twists and goals for the characters?!?!
    As I was watching it that was all I saw! Now maybe in comparison to the Silver Surfer, that is true. But when my little brother rented that movie, I had no desire to watch it after the first scene, so I wouldn’t really know…

  5. 5 kt
    October 8, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    i love that movie!
    “Nobody move! I dropped me brain!”
    although the Calypso thing was a bit…corny, it was an overall great ending to the trilogy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

