10
Sep
08

The Bourne Ultimatum

This one took a while, and I actually have a legitimate excuse: I am swamped with homework. This is my senior year and I’m taking a good deal of classes. So I’ve barely had the time to post. But anyway, now I’ll talk about The Bourne Ultimatum, which is a fantastic movie.

I’ll admit, the first half of it is relatively, well, to put it bluntly, boring. The first time I tried to watch it I fell asleep. (It didn’t help that the only other Bourne film I’d seen was Supremacy; thanks, Kyle) so I had a relatively difficult time keeping up with the flashbacks and backstory. (I still haven’t seen Identity, by the way.) But I’m glad I gave this film another chance. It just got better and better. Matt Damon did an excellent job as Jason Bourne, portraying him as a killer who wished he didn’t have to kill. There are several awesome scenes, such as the “Where are you?” “…In my office.” “I doubt that.” “Why?” “Because if you were, we’d be having this conversation face to face.” Just excellent dialogue. But, as we inevitably do, let’s talk about the themes.

This movie definitely has a redemptive story, but I don’t know that I would call Bourne a Christ-figure. He certainly redeems himself, but he doesn’t sacrifice himself. I know this is a short analysis, but I think it’s safe to say that there are no Christian themes in this movie.

This film definitely deserves it’s PG-13 rating, with violence and swearing. A couple uses of G-d. All in all, I give this film an 8/10.

Next review: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End.

9 Responses to “The Bourne Ultimatum”


  1. 1 kt
    September 10, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    yeah! great movie!!! 🙂 i saw Ultimatum first as well and had no idea what was going on. the movies are all so intertwined that you really have to see them in order. my fave is the Bourne Identity. 🙂

  2. 2 micknick
    September 10, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Great review!
    I still think Supremacy is the best, though.

  3. September 10, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    haha yeah, it had been a long day.

  4. 5 kt
    September 10, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    no…Supremacy is too sad.

  5. 6 micknick
    September 12, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    No, no. Supremacy isn’t sad, it’s really personal. That’s what I love about it.

  6. 7 leftback92
    September 18, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    This is prolly the first time we haven’t agreed over a movie. I really think that you shouldn’t watch a movie in the middle (or at this case end) of a trilogy. It just doesn’t give you enough context.

    The movie definitely is one of the best I’ve ever seen. The acting is amazing, by 95% percent of the actors, the dialogue, like you said, was outstanding, and the story was unique and entrancing.

    I do believe that most action movies fall far short of the bar set by the Bourne trilogy. It’s combination of suspense, action, story line, and acting are extremely hard to meet.

  7. 8 micknick
    September 30, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Sorry, but if I don’t get a review for Pirates 3, I think I’m going to ask for my money back…

  8. October 14, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I love this movie/all three of the movies. They’re amazing, and so much better than the books-and I can say that, I’m a bookaholic and usually the book is better than the movie. I overlook the shaky-camera thing. I got used to it.

    I love how Damon portrays Bourne, he really made him come alive and captured his emotion.


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

