01
Sep
08

The Matrix

This film has been called “the benchmark for all science fiction films to come.” Well…I agree…somewhat. The effects of the The Matrix should be the benchmark for all effects to come. The story…no. I’ll be honest. I hated this film. Utterly hated it. The story was terrible. The idea, while clever, was poorly executed. There are too many things not explained. For example, during the chase at the end, when the Agents are chasing Neo, people everywhere are being taken over by the Agents. No one notices this? Why does life just go on? Another example: how does Cypher, the little rat-faced traitor, manage to get into The Matrix and talk to Smith, but no one notices? How does Morpheus not notice what Cypher is doing? And the acting was definitely not top-notch. Keanu Reeves was downright bad. He wasn’t just not very good; he was bad. He can’t act in this movie. He tries to make his voice sound too…husky. Too masculine. Really the only good acting in this movie came from Hugo Weaving, as Agent Smith.

Enough of me telling you how much I hated this movie though. I’ll talk about the themes. First off, where’d the name Trinity come from? Why’d they name her Trinity? Something to think about there. This is one of those kinds of things where you think “What?” I mean, they gave her a name from the Bible, a good name, but there’s nothing about her that says she represents the Trinity. Consider that and then this: Morpheus’ ship is called the Nebuchadnezzar. Remember in the Bible that Nebuchadnezzar was the evil king that God turned into an animal until he realized that God is the supreme ruler. Nebbie (as VeggieTales charmingly shortened his name to) was bad. He was evil. So why name the good guys’ ship Nebuchadnezzar? Are they glorifying those that rebelled against God? Bu then, there’s that, and then this: the place that the good guys’ have their headquarters is called Zion. What is with this? There seem to be so many contradictions and hidden meanings in this movie but you can’t figure them out because everything is so muddled.

I’d say no one 10 or younger needs to see this movie, simply because of the many disturbing images. And the language. No movie needs that much language. There are about 20 G-d’s in the movie. More than were needed. I’d say 2 out of 10 stars, simply for the effects.

Next review: The Bourne Ultimatum

15 Responses to “The Matrix”


  1. 1 micknick
    September 1, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    oo….. ah….. ugh…….. what?
    I am simply speechless- I will not be able to look at you the same way again. I never thought of you as someone who read this much into movies just to point out the bad stuff. I guess everyone is entitled to their opinions, though. I thought this movie was amazing. As for the language, (which is the only thing I can bare to talk with you about) I did see it on TV, which I think cut most of the worst stuff out.
    wow

  2. September 1, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    haha, perhaps i do read too much into movies…at least into this one. I will admit, this movie had the potential to be utterly fantastic. But it just feels so disjointed. Nothing is coherent about it. I will say though that the kung fu and especially the ‘bullet-time’ sequence were awesome. but nothing else really stood out for me.

  3. 3 micknick
    September 1, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    yeah, uh, ok
    for me, it was one of those movies that put my mind in a cloud for a day or two. yeah

  4. September 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    oh mine too. it was a pretty disturbing movie.

  5. 5 micknick
    September 1, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    yeah, but I meant in the good way. haha.

    One more thing: why wouldn’t you consider the star wars originals the benchmark special effects movie?

  6. September 1, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    because the effects for those movies, while they were good at the time, haven’t aged well. who knows though, the matrix’s effects may not age well. but they still look good even after almost 10 years.

  7. 7 Crowjane29
    September 2, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Christian interpretations of The Matrix always amuse the [expletive deleted] outta me because they overlook all of the other mythological references and technical jargon that get recycled as character and place names. Some of us fans actually think Morpheus is a dangerous zealot–a religious terrorist if you like. He doesn’t know what Cypher is up to because he sees himself as a prophet, and doesn’t realize that others might see him and the rebellion differently. (Once the films finally depict Zion, a schism between those who believe Morpheus (and, by extension, Neo) and those who don’t is much more apparent.)

    On a more basic level, the Nebuccadnezzar story is about prophetic dreams. Morpheus names himself after the Greek god of dreams. He sees himself as a leader meant to awaken the masses from their illusions, but can’t see past his own. In the end (well, at the end of Reloaded) the Neb is destroyed, much as the biblical Nebuchadnezzar was destroyed. Morpheus must finally realize that his own perceptions were illusory.

    The Wachowskis made the story complicated enough to allow for multiple interpretations, particularly if you include the sequels…I get the feeling a lot of fans hated the sequels simply because they had the audacity to subvert the good vs evil plot that fans saw in the first film. I always saw Neo as a tool of the system being conned by various parties into thinking he was a Messiah figure. In the end, his role is not to save everyone, but to sacrifice himself so that order may be restored.

    As for “foul language”, it’s PG-13 at worst, with not a single F bomb in the entire trilogy. But I guess those easily offended may watch the TBS censored version, in which Neo utters such lines as “Jeepers creepers! That thing’s real?” 😉

  8. September 2, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Oh, ok. That does make sense, that Morpheus doesn’t see past himself to see what others are up to. That’s interesting. Really does make sense too.

    And I never saw the Matrix sequels (don’t plan to, really, had enough with the first Matrix) so I’m glad you took the liberty to let me know what happens to the Neb. It makes more sense now.

    And the ‘foul language’ bit, allow me to explain that. I’m writing reviews for people who might be wondering whether or not they want to watch a movie. It’s for their benefit.

    I’m going to interpret movies from a Christian point of view because I am a Christian. You can be amused as much as you want but I’m still going to do it that way. You have your interpretation, I have mine. Doesn’t mean either is right though. Unless you are one of the Wachowski brothers. Which I doubt. 😉

  9. 9 Laurelen
    September 2, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I just want to tell you, Squigs, I really, really appreciate what you do on your blog. And I’m not just saying that cause I know you. Just a little. Ha. But it is increased by that. I know you have a heart for movies and the intake of them from a Christian prospective, and I think it’s awesome that you take time out of your VERY busy schedule to write these reviews. It’s great, and I enjoy reading them a lot. Sry to uh, write something random right after your response to Crowjane29, but I just wanted to let you know that, and hopefully encourage you to keep it coming!

  10. 10 jheffley
    September 2, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Good job Andrew. While I may not agree with you, I still respect your opinion and your ability to critically analyze movies. Keep it up.

  11. 11 micknick
    September 2, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    I am siding with J-rod. Especially with the “not agreeing” part.
    We are taking sides, aren’t we?

  12. September 2, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    sure, you can take sides if you want; but allow me to warn you, i never lose. 😉

    And is it just this movie so far that you guys disagree, or has it been other movies?

  13. 13 micknick
    September 2, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Well, sorry, but when I said “take sides” I meant me and Jarrod against you. I don’t think we disagree with each other, but with you. (haha 🙂 )

  14. September 2, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    oh i know, i should have said ‘disagree with me on.’

  15. 15 micknick
    September 3, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Hey, about the whole christian interpretation thing, my dad was talking to me and told me some things I hadn’t thought of. If you think about the real world/computer program theme, it is kinda like the difference between God’s ways and our ways. God dwells and is present in the “real world” because is is not bound by the laws of time and space like in the world we live in (the computer program). He is, however, ever present and intervenes in our world because He is a God of mercy and grace. God can be thought of as the “computer programer” and we are like Neo- rebeling against the ways of the world and protecting it from the demons and temptation within it (the agents).

    All that is probably a big stretch on anything that the movie was intended to be, but it does seem to fit and its fun to use your imagination. GOOD MOVIE! haha


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

