20
Aug
08

3:10 to Yuma

                                                    As promised, here’s the next review. So recently I was at a friend’s house to eat pizza and watch a movie. (I had a fantastic time and would love to do it again, by the way) The movie we watched was 3:10 to Yuma. I had heard about it and seen the railer, but hadn’t given much thought to seeing it. I’m really glad I did. Not only was it highly enjoyable, it made me realize something: the Western isn’t completely gone. I always thought that no modern Western could match the glory of the classics: Big Jake, The Sons of Katie Elder, The Searchers, The Outlaw Josey Wales. I was proven wrong. 3:10 to Yuma deserves a spot up in with the classic Westerns. There weren’t many themes to talk about, other than the same thing as The Patriot: a son learning respect for his father. I did notice, however, that Christian Bale’s character says “I’ve been standin’ on one leg for three d**n years waitin’ for God to do me a favor, and He ain’t listenin’.” And the Russell Crowe’s character (outlaw Ben Wade) often quotes Scripture. So perhaps there’s something to be said there. If so, it’s pretty shallow. Also, there are some fairly intense images (a bullet being dug out of a man’s chest, several men being riddled with bullets) and one scene where you think “Eh, are we going to have to skip this?” But nothing inappropriate is seen. If you’ve seen Nevada Smith starring Steve McQueen, you won’t see anything different in this movie. Although there is plenty of language. All in all, I’d recommend this movie for anyone 14 or over, but that’s a matter of opinion. 3:10 to Yuma, 7 out of 10 stars.

Next review: .

4 Responses to “3:10 to Yuma”


  1. 1 kt
    August 21, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    i really wanted to see this but the review on pluggedinonline.com gave all of the little things so we didn’t rent it. i really hope to see it soon! 🙂

  2. August 21, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    yeah, in the future, don’t read reviews on pluggedinonline. they do a good work, but they make VERY many good movies sound terrible, just because it might’ve had a cussword or two.

  3. 3 kt
    August 22, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    yeah, it’s fun to read their reviews of cartoons. Winnie the Pooh has some violence! *gasp*

  4. 4 Jonathan Mooney
    August 30, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Yeah I totally agree with you on that plugged in thing. I have some friends who use that and they just focus on the bad, it made I am Legend look like so kind of horror movie, and because there were a few cuss words in the Dark Knight, it made it look like it was anti-Christian, it’s rididculous


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

