17
Apr
08

Contradictions–Or Grasping At Straws?

It’s probably the latter. Yeah, it’s the latter. One thing that atheists absolutely love to do is point out “contradictions” in the Bible. About 98% of the time these contradictions are simply a matter of dishonesty; i. e. taking the words out of context. And the context is very important. Anyone who says otherwise is a downright fool. Other times atheists simply don’t understand that times are nowhere near what they were when the Bible was written. This website gives an example of almost every type of wrong Bible reading, the first is that they used the King James Bible to point out contradictions; that Bible uses older language that many people don’t understand anymore. It’s quite easy to “point out” contradictions there. The site also lists ways that Christians justify the “contradictions;” most of which are actually legitimate. In fact, really the only one that someone wouldn’t want to use is number 6. Probably number 4 also. Anyway, any atheists out there who want to show me some contradictions? I could go through and tell you why each of the contradictions on the website are wrong, but that would take a while and come out to a very long post.

10 Responses to “Contradictions–Or Grasping At Straws?”


  1. 1 leftback92
    April 17, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Yeah…yeah…true. You know, the thing I find most interesting is that atheists (for the majority that I’ve dealt with, I’m not generalizing) that I have dealt with absolutely refuse to take into effect context. When you point that out to them (again, from my experience, I’m not generalizing) they simple don’t respond and move on to something else. Because they know (again, from my experience, I’m not generalizing) it is a straw agrument, once you show them.

    Good post and God bless.

  2. 2 leftback92
    April 17, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Grace and peace to you, in our Lord Jesus Christ, brother:

    The thing I find most interesting is that atheists (for the majority that I’ve dealt with, I’m not generalizing) that I have dealt with absolutely refuse to take into effect context. When you point that out to them (again, from my experience, I’m not generalizing) they simple don’t respond and move on to something else. Because they know (again, from my experience, I’m not generalizing) it is a straw agrument, once you show them.

    Good post, and God bless.

  3. April 17, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    you left two comments…

  4. 4 goragen
    April 18, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    yeah, i agree with tommy. i think another thing is, they want to be right so badly, even though ultimately in their hearts they know they’re wrong, that they will take almost anything that might look like a contradiction and call it a sure contradiction.

  5. April 18, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    I think it probably is quite easy and probably often a bit dishonest when people take certain segments of the Bible out of context. That said, for myself, the Bible is a book written by men in the bronze age, and arguments over whether it’s message is a good moral code to follow or a hopelessly outdated set of rules don’t interest me too much.

    I am an atheist but I think if you believe the Bible was written by your God you should be allowed to interpret it in whichever way suits you, as Christians seem happy to do.

  6. April 18, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    hmmm….you’re not like other atheists. you’re very polite. not saying i doubt, because i certainly don’t. it’s just odd that i should meet a polite atheist.

    thank you for stopping by.

  7. 7 leftback92
    April 18, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I..uh…know that I left two…I was hoping you would delete the first one…yeah…I feel really stupid…

  8. 8 kt
    April 28, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    another thing, one of the contradictions that i have had pointed out to me was two different verses talking about two completely different people! most of the contradictions that have been pointed out have nothing to do with on another. As a Bible-believing Christian, I can look at those “contradictions” and see the misunderstanding immediately! sometimes it’s just funny what ppl say are contradictions! lol
    Nice to hear from you, Lucy! =)

  9. 9 Chris Taylor
    April 29, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Squigs, nice blog. I’m glad you stopped by my blog and I hope you and your friends will visit often.

    Yell if you need anything.

    God Bless,
    Chris
    http://sharpeningiron.wordpress.com/

  10. 10 Sirius
    March 11, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    I’ve been saying this all along.

    Whenever they claim the Bible is full of errors, they’ve simply never understood it.

    Yet what do we do with those who paint their side of the Church’s stained-glass window black and then claim it sheds no light? What do we say to those who are willfully blind? We speak the truth in love to those who will receive our word. We keep our pearls when faced with swine [yes, they exist and they are identifiable, else Jesus would not have warned against them] who won’t believe no matter how convincing our arguments. This is why, I fear, most blog debates are useless. They’re not honestly seeking, these trolls; they’re utterly convinced of their own position and hope to convert YOU!

    Be wise as serpents, harmless as doves.

    –Sirius Knott

    “Christianity has not been tried and found wanting; it has been found difficult and left untried!” G K Chesterton


Leave a Reply

Quote of the Amount of Time I Want to Leave it Up Here

"I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've seen C-Beams... glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate. All those moments will be lost... like tears... in rain. Time... to die." ~Roy Batty (Blade Runner)
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

